The 30th Annual Meeting of the European Society of Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care (ESPNIC 2019) presented many Hot topics in the Intensive Care World

The 30th Annual Meeting of the European Society of Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care
(ESPNIC 2019) held in Salzburg from 18-21 June, was a great success. With an interesting scientific programme, 5 pre-congress workshops, simulation lab, and a unique networking dinner, the event offered many Hot topics from the Intensive Care World. For the first time, it was also possible for colleagues back in the unit to get a flavour of the interesting topics discussed via live streaming. Video recordings will be available for three more months on the website. 

Denis Devictor Award 2019 goes to Dick Tibboel

ESPNIC is happy to recognize the outstanding achievements of an individual in the field of
Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care Medicine by awarding Dick Tibboel with Denis Devictor Award 2019. With his work, he has always inspired young talents to work in the field of Intensive Care and has helped many children fulfil their dreams.

Denis Devictor Award Small

Many Awards Given at ESPNIC 2019

Many awards were given at ESPNIC 2019 showing the society's dedication towards science. Anne-Sylvie Ramelet and her project “ChrOnic CriTical illness in Pediatric intensive care in Switzerland (OCToPuS): Needs and psychosocial outcomes of families” won 5000 EUR funding sponsored by GETINGE. Silvia Foligno and the project “Near Infra-Red Spectroscopy (NIRS) in asphyxiated neonates undergoing the whole body cooling to evaluate acute kidney injury” received the 5000 EUR of Medtronic Research grant. The same award by supported by neosim went to Reinis Balmaks for “Improvement of Neonatal Resuscitation Outcome Through Simulation in Latvia”. ESPNIC inspires also young investigators by Young Investigators Award which went to Vijai Williams as 1st Prize and Michael Carter as 2nd Prize. Four Nursing Awards were also announced - two for Oral presentation going to Elizabeth Pichler Stachl and Marla Avila and two for E-poster presentations of Anna Brás and Maria Bereghnaya. 

To feel the spirit of the event - check the video of the congress.